The World needs Science, Science needs Women

 Call for Applications – Dutch L’Oréal UNESCO For Women in Science fellowships 2019


The Call for Applications of the Dutch L’Oréal UNESCO For Women in Science fellowships 2019 is now open. The fellowship allows excellent female scientists to boost their scientific career. Two fellowships of 25.000 euros are available to women active in the field of life sciences, who have between 3 and 10 years post-PhD academic experience (comparable to Veni/Vidi level).

Excellent female scientists programme

The prestigious international ‘For Women in Science’ programme is a collaboration between UNESCO and L’Oréal with the tagline: ‘The world needs science, science needs women’. The programme awards fellowships and prizes to exceptional female scientists in the field of life sciences. Since 1998, more than 2250 women from 110 countries have received a fellowship or award. Two of them, Elizabeth Blackburn and Ada Yonath, have been awarded the Nobel Prize.

In the Netherlands, the Netherlands Commission for UNESCO and L’Oréal Netherlands have managed the fellowship programme in cooperation with the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS-KNAW) and the Dutch Network of Women Professors (LNVH) since 2012. Laureates are awarded a residential fellowship of 3 or 5 months at NIAS-KNAW in Amsterdam, and are provided a place to think, study and write, while being released from regular responsibilities such as teaching, administrative or clinical tasks. NIAS offers an inspiring workplace in an interdisciplinary and international environment. If needed, accommodation can be provided.


The world needs science, science needs women

According to the Dutch Network of Women Professors (LNVH), currently only 19.3% of Dutch professors are women. This puts the Netherlands at the bottom of the ranking compared to other European countries. The For Women in Science programme aims to boost scientific careers of women and as such, aims to contribute to an increase of women professors.

How to apply

Closing date is May 11, 2018.








Impressions For Women in Science



2017 Laureates Hanneke Wigman and Sonja Swanson with the four partners of the Dutch L’Oréal Unesco For Women in Science Fellowship programme at the ceremony, March 2018.












Opening of the AEX Amsterdam stock exchange by 2017 laureates Sonja Swanson and Hanneke Wigman, March 2018








2016 laureates Carlijn Kamphuis and Maeike Zijlmans with Eva Jinek









2015 laureates Femke Nijboer and Doris van Halem with KNAW president José van Dijck

For the international Facebook page visit: For women in Science – Official Page